top of page
  • Writer's pictureShining Star

Theatre/Monologue or one-act play

Updated: Jun 2, 2022

Workshop with Professor Deborah Hathaway


Dear John,

I tried very hard

To be your friend

I tried to let things go

To give you endless chances

I tried to be supportive

To be understanding

To offer endless grace

To view things from your perspective

To take into consideration your trauma

To imagine your values as my values

To remember you are younger

To take into account my privileges over you- though few

To accept your anger as my fault even when directed toward me

You offer me no such grace

No such compassion

You offer me

Nothing

But hate

Anger

Pain

Grief

In moments where I try to see

All I see in you

That is great

I don’t just see you

As your anger and hate

You are much more

But when I got angry

Which I have only done once to you

Only once confronted you with my anger and pain

You threw it back at me

Back into my face

I didn’t want to talk about rape

I don’t want to talk about it

I state

You say

Oh

So you don’t care

About me learning

You are close minded

You don’t care

You told me

But you John

You did not ever

Acknowledge my pain




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page