top of page
  • Writer's pictureShining Star

Poetry

Updated: Jun 2, 2022

Workshop with Claudia Castro Luna


Anxious Fingers

My hands tell me

That they should be much more rough

Hard work doesn’t come

From soft fingertips

strength

anxiety

anger

fear

memories

love

warmth

The skin on my knuckles

Are bent out of shape

From gnawing them

With anxious teeth

I broke that habit

And placed my anxiety onto a different part of me

My hair

My hair

Split ends

And small knots

From the twisting and turning

The anxious yearning

And twisting and turning

To be anxious no more

My feets constant tapping

Whether I do it consciously

Or without realizing

It taps on

Permission granted or not

Anxiously

Tap tap tapping

My fingernails

Pick at my skin

Looking for imperfections

To rip off

It’s not intentional

But I rip

Rip rip

My back

My face

All picked

Back to my knuckles

Bent out of shape

Gnawing away in aim of biting into constant anxiety

So I could grab it within my teeth

And chew it

Chew chew chew

It into bits

Before I spit it

The now seed

Of anxiety

Into a pit

Where then an ugly tree

A thorny tree

Will grow

This tree won’t grow very big

It will shrivel itself

Not allowing itself to flourish

Much like my anxiety

The thorns will form

A crown

I will pluck this crown

Of thorns

Grabbing onto the spikes

With no regard

My fingers will bleed

But I will place this now

Bloody crown

At my feet

And tell the anxious ghost queen

That fills this thorn crown

She may finally rest

Not anxiously

But in peace





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page